Zucchini Fritter Recipe for Toddlers

My son recently decided that he can feed himself. This is great. I’m all for independence and getting back to feeding myself at dinner. But it means I can no longer load up his purees with all the nutrients he needs for the day. I need to figure out how to provide him with healthly finger food.

I tried out this zucchini fritter recipe which I adapted from a baby/toddler cookbook I received as a shower gift. It was listed in the 18+ month chapter and my son is 11 months.

What You Need
2 zucchinis (shredded and drained)
2 tablespoons baby cereal (rice, oatmeal, etc.)
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp paprika
1 egg
salt and pepper (optional)
oil
plain full fat Greek yogurt (for dipping)

Mix together zucchini, cereal, baking soda, paprika, egg and salt/pepper. Feel free to experiment with seasonings. Heat a couple tablespoons of oil in a pan. I used vegetable oil. Drop teaspoon sized balls of the mixture into the pan and lightly press them flat.

Here’s what it looks like:

zucchini fritter recipe for toddlers

Zucchini Fritters

Cook them for about 2 minutes on each side. Then let them rest on a paper towel before serving.

Plate of Zucchini Fritters

Plate of Zucchini Fritters

I broke them up into smaller pieces for my son since he is still only working with two teeth. He was hesitant at first, but when I added a dollup of yogurt (his favorite) on top he went crazy for them. This does add to the mess but I’ve already resigned myself to the fact that dinners are going to be messy for awhile.

If your baby has a favorite finger food, please share in the comments!

Leave a Reply

